HISTORY LESSONS (a poem) by Isaac Alesh Melchizedek

I am lost in the rain that’ll never fall

on a cloudy day;

I am washed away, fallen, dispersed!

There are things better than falling:

stumbling, fading;

I am conceived only in these memories –

death, sickness.

 

There is a lizard within the walls,

in the veranda of history,

there are stagnant waters too;

forgotten arguments & forgotten names –

I belong to their memory – I am their tasp

 

don’t seek me among the sane –

I am naked, dead, insane;

 

call me only in whispers,

I will not listen

I am lost in the rain that’ll never fall.

 

__________________________

The Author: Isaac Alesh Melchizedek

The Author: Isaac Alesh Melchizedek

Isaac Alesh Melchizedek also known as Isacah O’duah writes poems and short fiction from Ibadan, Nigeria. His works were recently published by Brittle Paper and Tuck Magazine.

Leave a Reply

