THE CONVERT (a poem) by Akor Emmanuel Oche

I dig deep into the coffers
of my ancestry
paying homage to the Alekwu priest.
I stand to gaze for hours
at the banks of Ogbano’ river.

The deeper I look,
the lesser I see.
The much I learn,
the little I understand.

Our fathers are wise,
they left us with parables,
to chew till death.
To leave for our children to chew.

Hacking back to my roots,
I become a pilgrim
in search of truth.
I become a convert
to the ancient path
the path that is true.

 

__________________________________

(C) 2015/AKOR EMMANUEL OCHE

Akor Emmanuel Oche is a Nigerian Poet and Coordinator of CWAN Kogi State Chapter.akor emmanuel

5 thoughts on “THE CONVERT (a poem) by Akor Emmanuel Oche

  1. Tell me, with a poem like this, why would I not be proud of the current crops of Nigerian writers! What an imagination!

    Such a telling poem- “they left us with parables
    to chew till death.”

    Akor, you write well, man.

Leave a Reply

