NIKE ART GALLERY : HEAVEN ON ART.

Nike Okundaye. Owner, NIKE ART GALLERY

I remember the first time I walked into Nike Art Gallery. It was an accident. It was not planned. I was sent to a client’s place at Ikate. I was so tired on my way back. I remember walking down the street and seeing Nike Art Gallery in all its glory. I took calculated steps to get to the entrance. And I asked if I could just look around.

“Of course you can. It’s free.”

Pictures were the last thing on my mind, really. I felt God’s presence inside there. I felt the Trinity and I saw myself praying, making the sign of the cross as I saw the work of human hands.

I know what you are thinking now. You are probably saying, “Ahnahn, it’s not that deep”…

But, really, I can’t stop myself from asking:

“How is this place not a temple?”

I was alone. I was jaw-dropped. I was in awe of the sheer creativity. I felt like if I prayed in here, all my prayers would be answered.

My God!

Nike Art Gallery Is Beautiful.

You can’t get enough of it in one day. And so when I went to Nike Art Gallery for the first time, I knew I would be going  back. It was in my second visit that I took all of these pictures. Most of them outside.

Nike Art Gallery is Big. Large. Massive. It holds an uncountable number of art work in its Four Floors. Every space is a sight to behold. All of the art works are of Nigerian origin and by Nigerian artists. From the digital and metal work to the wooden sculptures and to paintings. Name it. Chiffon materials in tie and dye style can be seen on the ground floor with ankara bags, attire, ankara bracelets, etc.

I went with my sister, Chinelo. And while we were looking around, we saw the great Nike, an elderly but really agile woman. She was busy moving art works and we didn’t want to be “rude”…so we didn’t ask for a selfie. I bite myself anytime I think about it. But she got to talk to us in the moving process. We were in a room filled with wooden carved works. And she told us that particular room was like a palace.

I cannot describe Nike Art Gallery to you. It is a place you have to see. WITH YOUR OWN EYES.

Nike has given workshops on traditional Nigerian textiles to audiences in the US and Europe during the past 20 years. Her fame as an artist and teacher has taken her all over the globe.

It does not matter if you are an amateur artist like my sister, Chinelo, or an enthusiast of African arts like my humble self, Nike Art Gallery and its other centers offers you the opportunity to see Nigeria from a different perspective.

The art at the gallery includes works by Ndidi Dike, Peju Alatise, Tola Wewe, Ayorinde Olotu, Kolade Oshinowo etc etc etc. And truth is, I was so overwhelmed. I was not bothered about the names. The next time I go, I will pay attention to the names. I have to. 

Nike Art Gallery: 2, Elegushi Road, 3rd Roundabout, Epe Expressway, Ikate Cross Road, Lekki Phase 1 Peninsula, Lekki Lagos, Nigeria.

Places like Nike Art Gallery and more are the reasons why I think Lagos has become home.

Can’t believe I am saying this.

Shudders

People. Lagos is crazy and hectic. Lagos is also artistic and life.

Love and Light.

Leave a Reply

